• Barbara Newman

Energy Derived from the Chakras

Visualize!Chakras, pure and continuous energy flowing through the body, produce a whirling vortex, a powerhouse of energy! There are seven chakras or energy centers in the body that run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. They are anatomically invisible but conceptually linked with the physical systems. Chakra, spiritual in nature, means wheel or circle. When the chakras are balanced, energy flows. However, when chakras become blocked, people can feel physically and emotionally drained. When practicing yoga, individuals breathe, move, stretch, reflect, and meditate allowing the chakras to open, activate, and balance. That’s the good feeling experienced during yoga. These unseen energy centers also need food to sustain them. In addition to yoga, another way to improve the state of the body and chakras is by understanding what foods benefit them.

The First Chakra: Root Chakra or Muladhara

The first chakra, Muladhara or the root chakra, is located at the base of the spine. It is represented by the color red and is associated with security, self-esteem, and feeling grounded. If there is lack of focus, inablility to take action, restlessness, or fatigue, the root chakra might need to be balanced.

Nutritional Foods for a Healthy Root Chakra

*Red foods such as strawberries, tomatoes, beets, red apples, raspberries, red grapes

*Root vegetables: carrots, onions, garlic, potatoes

*Protein: eggs, meats, tofu, soy products, peanut butter

*Spices: chives, paprika, pepper

These root foods provide a strong foundation to connect the body to the earth and meet the physical needs for a healthy lifestyle. Enjoy snacking on red fruit to keep your root chakra balanced. Try preparing or ordering a root vegetable, beef, or chicken stew dish, when your mind needs calming and your body and spirit need grounding to the earth. Bon Appetite!

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All